10 Pics to Put Some Spring in Your Step

“Spring is when you feel like whistling even with a shoe full of slush.”– Doug Larson

It’s been a long, long winter and even though the first day of spring has come and gone, this is the first week it’s actually felt like spring (to me at least). So, in an attempt to appease Mother Nature and show her my appreciation for these glorious above zero days, I’ve decided to share pictures from a trip I took to England last spring.

As some of you know, I lived in South Korea for a year teaching ESL. In SoKo, I was lucky enough to meet people from all over the world – Australia, South Africa, USA, Iran, Scotland, Ireland and yes, England – and as it turns out, some of those folks from England (and other countries too!) turned out to be some of my best friends.

Inevitably after my return from Asia, I would make a trip across the pond for a visit, it was just a matter of time (and funds). With my boyfriend in tow, I took a 10-day trip that consisted of a few days in Brough (a village about 20 minutes away from Hull) to celebrate my friends’ 10-year anniversary, a day touring York, a few days in The Lake District (see a story I wrote about cycling in The Lake District here) and a couple of days in London.

The photos I’ve selected remind me of warmer times and the optimism that derives from a season’s change. So here’s to spring and the sunny days ahead; to the melting snow and the blooming bright colours; to the green grass and lush green trees; and to the fresh air that doesn’t make my nose hairs freeze. Enjoy!

1

Wall flowers in York

2One of London’s bridges

3

York Minster

4

Somewhere, The Lake District

5

Frolics along River Thames

6

Downtown Hull

7

Spring flowers in a Brough garden

8

A spring day in The Lakes

9

Don’t forget your brellie

10

Moss, moss, moss

2 thoughts on “10 Pics to Put Some Spring in Your Step

Leave a Reply

